The Future of TeX

At the Texas and Cork conferences, birds-of-afeather (BOF) sessions were held to discuss the future of TFX. In particular, the attendees were concerned about the maintenance of TEX when Prof. Knuth no longer wished to be involved, and about the possible evolution of incompatible TEXlike products should this occur. These discussions gave rise to a number of questions, which were presented to the TUG Board during the Cork meeting for formal response. The questions are shown here. and were also communicated to Prof. Knuth by one of the BOF attendees. Prof. Knuth has been kind enough to provide a definitive response as to the future of TEX and of METAFONT; this response is given on the following pages, along with a commentary by the TUG President, Nelson Beebe.

- 1. Does the TUG Board acknowledge the need to maintain and develop TEX when Prof. Knuth decides to be no longer involved?
- 2. Does the Board agree that TUG should oversee and coordinate changes to TEX in an attempt to improve the program as well as to establish a single standard?
- 3. What mechanism can be established to enable TUG to maintain control over TEX without stifling further necessary development?
- 4. Does the board agree that fundamental research into unsolved typographical problems is necessary to improve TEX and that TUG should promote and seek funding for such research?

Future of TEX BOF Cork, 12 Sept 1990

Attendees of the "Future of TEX" Birds-of-a-Feather Session at TEX90, Cork:

Johannes Braams
PTT Research, The Netherlands

Tim Bradshaw

University of Edinburgh, UK Adrian F. Clark

University of Essex, UK

Christine Detig

Germany

Angus Duggan

University of Edinburgh, UK

Victor Eijkhout

University of Nijmegen,

The Netherlands

Jeremy Gibbons

Oxford University, UK

Michel Goossens

CERN, Switzerland

Klaus Guntermann

Technische Hochschule Darmstadt,

Germany

Amy Hendrickson TEXnology, Inc, USA

Alan Jeffrey

Oxford University, UK

Frank Mittelbach

Electronic Data Systems, Germany

Timothy Murphy

Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

Marion Neubauer

Universität Heidelberg, Germany

David Osborne

Nottingham University, UK

Nico Poppelier

Elsevier Science Publishers BV,

The Netherlands

Thomas Reid

Texas A&M University, USA

David Rhead

Nottingham University, UK

Open University, UK Jan Michael Rynning

Royal Institute of Technology,

Sweden

Chris Rowley

Jens Schmidt

Universität Hamburg, Germany

Rainer Schöpf

Universität Heidelberg, Germany

Joachim Schrod

Germany

Alan Wittbecker

Digital Equipment Corporation,

USA

Ralph Youngen

American Mathematical Society,

USA