# TEX Users Group

TUGboat (ISSN 0896-3207) is published by the T<sub>E</sub>X Users Group. Web: tug.org/TUGboat.

# Individual memberships

2019 dues for individual members are as follows:

- Trial rate for new members: \$20.
- Regular members: \$105.
- Special rate: \$75.

The special rate is available to students, seniors, and citizens of countries with modest economies, as detailed on our web site. Members may also choose to receive *TUGboat* and other benefits electronically, at a discount. All membership options described at tug.org/join.html.

Membership in the T<sub>E</sub>X Users Group is for the calendar year, and includes all issues of *TUGboat* for the year in which membership begins or is renewed, as well as software distributions and other benefits. Individual membership carries with it such rights and responsibilities as voting in TUG elections. All the details are on the TUG web site.

## Journal subscriptions

TUG boat subscriptions (non-voting) are available to organizations and others wishing to receive TUGboat in a name other than that of an individual. The subscription rate for 2019 is \$110.

## Institutional memberships

Institutional membership is primarily a means of showing continuing interest in and support for  $T_EX$  and TUG. It also provides a discounted membership rate, site-wide electronic access, and other benefits. For further information, see tug.org/instmem.html or contact the TUG office.

## Trademarks

Many trademarked names appear in the pages of TUGboat. If there is any question about whether a name is or is not a trademark, prudence dictates that it should be treated as if it is.

[printing date: November 2018] Printed in U.S.A.

# **Board of Directors**

Donald Knuth, Grand Wizard of TFX-arcana<sup>†</sup> Boris Veytsman, President\* Arthur Reutenauer<sup>\*</sup>, Vice President Karl Berry<sup>\*</sup>, Treasurer Susan DeMeritt<sup>\*</sup>, Secretary Barbara Beeton Johannes Braams Kaja Christiansen Taco Hoekwater Klaus Höppner Frank Mittelbach Ross Moore Chervl Ponchin Norbert Preining Will Robertson Herbert Voß Raymond Goucher, Founding Executive Director<sup>†</sup> Hermann Zapf (1918–2015), Wizard of Fonts

\* member of executive committee † honorary

See tug.org/board.html for a roster of all past and present board members, and other official positions.

Addresses	Electronic Mail
T <sub>E</sub> X Users Group	General correspondence,
P. O. Box 2311	membership, subscriptions:
Portland, OR 97208-2311	office@tug.org
U.S.A.	Submissions to <i>TUGboat</i> ,
Telephone	letters to the Editor:
+1 503 223-9994	TUGboat@tug.org
Fax +1 815 301-3568	Technical support for TEX users: support@tug.org
Web	Contact the
tug.org	Board of Directors:
tug.org/TUGboat	board@tug.org

#### Copyright © 2018 TEX Users Group.

Copyright to individual articles within this publication remains with their authors, so the articles may not be reproduced, distributed or translated without the authors' permission.

For the editorial and other material not ascribed to a particular author, permission is granted to make and distribute verbatim copies without royalty, in any medium, provided the copyright notice and this permission notice are preserved.

Permission is also granted to make, copy and distribute translations of such editorial material into another language, except that the TEX Users Group must approve translations of this permission notice itself. Lacking such approval, the original English permission notice must be included.